Communications Center logo

The mission of the Morris County Communications Center is to serve and protect the public and the first responders who dedicate themselves to our communities by providing the vital communications link between those responders and the people and towns they serve.

The Communications Center was established in April 2006 by the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders.

It now serves 26 Morris County municipalities as the primary agency to answer all 9-1-1 calls and to dispatch local police, fire and emergency medical personnel.

Woman at her desk in the Communications Center. She is surrounded by monitors.Additionally, it handles the communications needs of 3 County of Morris law enforcement agencies, two federal agencies, and serves as a back up to all other Morris County municipalities for overflow 9-1-1 calls.

In 2016, the Communications Center processed 508,344 requests for service and answered a total of 397,623 phone calls, inclusive of 73,765 that were 9-1-1 emergency calls.

That work was done by 95 dedicated employees who carry out the vital mission of the Communications Center seven days a week, 356 days a year.

The Morris County Communications Center was honored for its fine work when it received the prestigious Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) Communications Accreditation certification on July 15, 2015. That accreditation recognized the Center for adhering to more than 200 best practices in public safety communications.


If you think you have what it takes to join our first-rate communications team as a Public Safety Telecommunicator, please check out our employment page.


Smart 911 logoSmart911 allows residents to create a Safety Profile at for their household that includes vital information that you want 9-1-1 call takers and emergency responders to have in the event of an emergency. Residents can offer as much or as little personal or business information as they wish. Sign up at

The Morris County Communications Center currently provides public service answering for 23 towns under the county’s communications network umbrella. 9-1-1 calls made to emergency call takers in those

24 towns would trigger Smart911 information displays.

The following towns are currently included:

  • Boonton Township
  • Chatham
  • Chatham Township
  • Chester
  • Chester Township
  • Dover
  • East Hanover
  • Harding
  • Long Hill
  • Mendham
  • Mendham Township
  • Mine Hill
  • Morris Township
  • Morristown
  • Morris Plains
  • Mountain Lakes
  • Mount Arlington
  • Netcong
  • Randolph
  • Rockaway Borough
  • Roxbury
  • Victory Gardens
  • Washington Township
  • Wharton

Contact Us

Men working at their stations in the Communications CenterMorris County Communications Division
500 West Hanover Avenue
Parsippany, New Jersey 07054

Michael Peoples, Communications Director
[email protected]

Jack Faenza, Deputy Director
[email protected]