Get the latest COVID-19 Updates | Morris County Regional Vaccination Center Information

Posted Wednesday, August 14th, 2019

Historic Marker to be Presented for the Union School House Preservation Project

The Morris County Board of Freeholders, as part of a continuing tradition of holding county government “road meetings’’ in towns across the county, will meet at the municipal building in Washinton Township, at 43 Schooley’s Mountain Road, on Wednesday, Aug. 14, at 7 p.m.Freeholder Board to Meet in Washington Township on Aug. 14

At the meeting, a presentation of a historic marker for Union School House preservation project will be made to the Washington Township Historical Society.

The gathering in Washington Township is one of seven county governing board meetings being held outside of the county seat in Morristown in 2019 as part of an effort to bring county government closer to constituents.

The freeholders met in Wharton on July 10, Mendham Township on June 12, Chester Township on April 10, and in Florham Park on May 6, and also will meet on Wednesday, Sept. 11 in Montville and Monday, Oct. 7 in Riverdale.

“The Freeholder Board takes county government on the road to make it easier for local residents and officials to raise issues of importance and concern without having to travel to the county seat in Morristown,’’ said Freeholder Director Doug Cabana.

“It also gives us an opportunity to visit our 39 municipalities and get a first-hand look at issues of importance,’’ he added.

The freeholders last year met in Butler, Jefferson, Madison, Mine Hill, Mount Olive, Mountain Lakes and Roxbury.

The freeholders meet twice monthly, usually on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month, at the County Administration and Records Building in Morristown. The public can comment at those meetings.

The board also holds public work sessions on the mornings or afternoons of the second and fourth Wednesday.

For a schedule of specific meeting dates, locations and times, and to view Freeholder Board meeting agendas, visit:

For more information on county government, visit:

The Union School House

The Union School House

Washington Township was incorporated as a township by the state Legislature on April 2, 1798. It was created from portions of Roxbury Township. The township was named for George Washington, one of many communities statewide named for the first president.

The Lenni Lenape inhabitants of the region referred to this area as Long Valley.  It was named German Valley when it was settled in the 1700s by immigrants from Saxony, Germany. However, it was renamed Long Valley during World War I because of anti-German sentiment in America during the war.

It also has been known through its history as Budd Valley and Dutch Valley.

Communities located within the township have included Bartley, Bettystown, Crestmoore, Drakestown, Fairmount, Four Bridges, Lake George, Middle Valley, Naughright, Parker, Pleasant Grove, Pottersville, Scrappy Corner, Springtown and Stephensburg.

To learn more about Washington Township, visit