Get the latest: COVID-19 Updates | 2020 Primary Election

Posted Friday, April 20th, 2018

The Youngtown Edition, the award-winning student-run newspaper at County College of Morris, recently added seven more awards to its long list of accolades from the New Jersey Collegiate Press Association.

Photo of Youngtown Edition staff posign with their awards.

(l/r) Moe Rahmatullah, Parsippany; Beth Peter, Califon; Professor Russ Crespolini, Brett Friedensohn, Morris Plains;, Drew Natarnicola, Alexa Wyszkowski, Rockaway; and Arianna Parks, Bedminster, pose with their awards at the New Jersey Press Foundation awards luncheon on April 14.

Competing in the 2-year college category with entries from the current academic year, the newspaper’s staff won top honors in news writing, editorial writing, enterprise investigative reporting and layout and design. Students won third place in photography and overall website.

For the third consecutive year, The Youngtown Edition received second place in General Excellence.  Students accepted the awards during a press association luncheon on April 14 in Jamesburg.

Formed in 1952, the association’s mission is to advance the prestige and integrity of the state’s college newspapers; it is the charitable arm of the New Jersey Press Association.

Youngtown Edition adviser and adjunct professor Russ Crespolini, who is also the editor of The Progress newspaper, said he is proud of the student journalists for their hard work, due diligence in reporting and their dedication in producing the bi-weekly campus newspaper.

“To be acknowledged by [NJCPA] is a big validation to these students. Their work, I feel, speaks for itself, but it is nice to be acknowledged by those whose job it is set the industry standard. It echoes the compliments from the campus community and local officials the staff received this past year.”

The award winners are:

  • First Place – News Writing – Beth Peter of Califon, Jannat Sheikh of Hopatcong, Moe Rahmatullah of Parsippany
  • First Place – Editorial Writing – Brett Friedensohn of Morris Plains
  • First Place – Enterprise / Investigative Reporting – Brett Friedensohn, Jannat Sheikh
  • First Place – Layout and Design – Staff of The Youngtown Edition
  • Second Place – General Excellence – Staff of The Youngtown Edition
  • Third Place – Photography – Arianna Parks of Bedminster
  • Third Place – Overall Website – Alexa Wyszkowski of Rockaway, Marisa Goglia of Madison

The Youngtown Edition is located on the CCM website at