Updates from Morris County: Get the latest on COVID-19

Posted Wednesday, December 13th, 2017

Freeholder Board Lauds CCM Team for Winning National Design Awards Awards For Literary Magazine

The Morris County Board of Freeholders today issued a resolution to the the County College of Morris and staff of the student-produced literary magazine The Promethean, which recently won national recognition for design, continuing an award-winning tradition that dates back more than a decade.

photo of (l/r) Freeholder Director Doug Cabana, CCM President Anthony Iacono, students Yanira Rodriquez, Marshall Williams, and Brian Larney; CCM instructor and Promethian advisor Kathy McNeil, and CCM Vice President Bette Simmons,

(l/r) Freeholder Director Doug Cabana, CCM President Anthony Iacono, students Yanira Rodriquez, Marshall Williams, and Brian Larney; CCM instructor and Promethian advisor Kathy McNeil, and CCM Vice President Bette Simmons

The 2016-17 edition of The Promethean was recognized for design excellence earning a Bronze Award in the Magazine Design category in the 47th Creativity International Awards Print and Packaging Design competitionIn addition, the 2016-17 edition was selected by Graphic Design:USA as a winner in its 2017 American Graphic Design Awards contest.

photo of the cover of the 2016-17 Promethian

Cover of the 2016-17 Promethian

“This magazine highlights the remarkable personal talents of these students, showcases the great education offered at County College of Morris, and makes all Morris County residents very proud,” said Freeholder Director Doug Cabana, who presented a resolution of congratulations to CCM students and officials at the county governing board’s Wednesday, Dec. 13, work session meeting in Morristown.

Among those accepting the resolution were CCM President Anthony Iacono, CCM graphic design instructor and The Promethian advisor Kathy McNeil,  and three members of the student design team, Marshall Williams of Mount Olive, Yanira Rodriquez of Mount Olive, and Brian Larney, of Livingston. Each of the students also received a county certificate of congratulations.

Other student design team members responsible for the 2016-17 edition — and who could not attend the event — are Danielle Kerr, of Lake Hopatcong; Elizabeth Wise, of Rockaway; Jack Mandrake, of Randolph; and Patrick Moriera, of Dover.

Freeholders Honor CCM Students and Staff of

The Promethian faculty adviser Kathy McNeil tells the Freeholder Board about the magazine and the efforts of the student design team.

Regarding the national awards, the Creativity International program, one of the longest running independent design competitions, is considered a barometer of excellence in the graphic design and advertising fields.

This year’s winners were from 28 countries. Submissions for the competition came from major ad agencies, publishers, graphic designers, freelance designers, marketing departments, nonprofits, in-house and corporate art departments.

While the competition does offer a student design category, The Promethean placed in a professional category.

Meanwhile, the American Graphic Design Awards is the largest showcase for original work created by graphic designers.

This is the 12th year in a row that the Promethean has received a American Graphic Design from GraphicDesign:USA. This year’s contest had approximately 10,000 items submitted for consideration. Fifteen percent of the total, or 1,500 submissions, were selected for recognition by the panel of judges.CCM logo

The American Graphic Design Awards contest does not include a student category, so The Promethean was judged against work produced by professional designers. Submissions were sent by designers from around the world.

Earlier this semester, the college was informed that the 2015-16 edition of the Promethean was selected as a winner in the American Inhouse Design awards, another contest sponsored by GraphicDesign:USA. This is the seventh consecutive year that the Promethean has been chosen for this award.

The 2015-2016 CCM student staff was made up of graphic design students Jacobo Aristizabel, of Whippany; Elizabeth Comings, of Denville; Sabine Formanek, of Basking Ridge; Alexandra Paterson, of Mount Tabor; and Sandra Stites, of Randolph.