Wednesday, May 10th, 2017

DON’T MISS OUT ON YOUR CHOICE FOR GUBERNATORIAL CANDIDATES AND IMPORTANT, STATE, COUNTY AND LOCAL ELECTIONS

The deadline to register to vote in New Jersey’s 2017 gubernatorial primary election is next Tuesday, May 16. In addition, there are a host of a state legislative, county and local elections to be decided on June 6.

photo of pile of "VOTE'' lapel pinsYou may register to vote in Morris County if:

  • You are a citizen of the United States
  • You will be 18 years of age on or before the next election
  • You are not incarcerated, on parole, or on probation due to a conviction for an indictable offense under any federal or state laws
  • You are a Morris County resident 30 days before the election
  • You are a resident of the election district in which you expect to vote at the time of registration

Voter registration applications can be obtained from your local Municipal Clerk’s Office or from the Morris County Board of Elections Office in Morristown. The form can be downloaded at http://elections.morriscountynj.gov/voters/form-register/

The Board of Elections Office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. It will stay open late on Tuesday, May 16, until 9 p.m. to accept voter registrations.

Voter registrations cannot be submitted online, emailed or faxed. Original applications must be hand delivered or postmarked on or before May 16.

In the June 6 primary election, you may only vote for a candidate in your declared party (Republican or Democrat).

If you are a registered voter who has never declared a party, you will complete a Political Party Affiliation Declaration  at your polling place on the day of the Primary Election. This declaration must be made before you will be permitted to vote in that Primary Election.

The General Election is the only time you can cross party lines.

photo of "Polling Place--Vote Here'' sign You may not vote in a primary election if you are a declared US Constitution, Green, Libertarian, Natural Law, Reform, Socialist Party of New Jersey or Conservative Party member.

For a wealth of information on voting, please visit the Morris County Elections site at: https://www.scribd.com/doc/37107013/Morris-County-Voters-Guide

To get a voter registration form and more information call 973-285-6715 or visit:

http://elections.morriscountynj.gov/voters/form-register/

Also, if you are not going to be in Morris County or can’t get to the polls that day, mail-in ballots can be obtained through the Morris County Clerk’s Office. The application can be downloaded at www.morriscountyclerk.org. The deadline to apply for mail-in ballots through the mail is May 30. The deadline to apply in person is June 5 at 3 p.m.

If you have a question regarding mail-in ballots or require a ballot mailed to your residence, please call 973-973-285-6066.