Posted Monday, November 21st, 2016


The Morris County Board of Freeholders today honored two longtime volunteers, Janet Foster and Arturo Palombo, who will be retiring at the end of this year after 14 years on the Morris County Historic Preservation Trust Fund Review Board.


Janet Foster and Arturo Palumbo hold resolutions, with Freeholder Christine Myers between them. Others: (l/r) Freeholder Deborah Smith, Christine Marion, Freeholders Hank Lyon and Tom Mastrangelo.

Foster, of Madison, and Palombo, of Chester Township, served as volunteers on the board since its creation, and Foster was a member of the freeholder-appointed panel that created the county’s historic preservation program in 2003.

“We owe both of you a great debt of gratitude on behalf of the Freeholder Board and the residents of Morris County,’’ said Freeholder Christine Myers, who presented resolutions of appreciation to Foster and Palombo.

“You have such a wealth of knowledge and experience that you shared with us over the years to help preserve the history that gives our county it’s unique character and high quality of life. We thank you both for your dedication and service,’’ Myers added.

Foster and Palombo were appointed to the fledgling Historic Trust Fund Review Board on Feb. 26, 2003, bringing experience in architectural history and preservation architecture to board decisions. Since that time, 96 historical sites or resources in 32 Morris County municipalities have received funding assistance through the county program.


Foster, Chang and Palombo

The Freeholders created the county’s Historic Preservation Trust Fund in 2003 to help support the preservation of the county’s exceptional historic resources.

That decision was made following a 2002 referendum in which county voters approved a referendum authorizing the use of county Open Space Trust Fund dollars for historic preservation.

Awards are made for projects that offer significant contributions to the advancement of historic preservation; restorations, rehabilitations, and adaptive use plans of historic buildings and cultural landscapes.

Joining Foster and Palombo at today’s event were Deena Leary, Morris County Director of Planning and Public Works; Morris County Planning Director Christine Marion; and Ray Chang, the county’s Historic Preservation Program Coordinator.

For more information on the county’s historic preservation program, please visit: