Posted Monday, June 13th, 2016

NJ Librarians Bestow Prestigious Award to Freeholders

The Morris County Board of Freeholders have been honored with the 2016 New Jersey Library Association’s Library Champion Award, which was announced in May at the annual NJLA Conference awards ceremony.

(l/r) Phillip Berg, executive director of MAIN,Ruth Lufkin of Bernards Township Library, MAIN President and Parsippany Library Direrctor Jayne Beline,

Freeholders receive library award from MAIN

The Champion Award is given annually in recognition of an exceptional contribution to a New Jersey library, group of libraries, or to a New Jersey Library community.

The Morris County Freeholders were cited to have “stepped up to the plate and helped to supply the logistics and finances needed” to ensure a smooth organizational restructuring by the Morris Automated Information Network (MAIN), the cost‐sharing cooperative to which all of Morris County’s public libraries are members.

Jayne Beline, Parsippany Public Library Director and MAIN’s President, stated: “This award is given annually to those who make a positive impact on library service in New Jersey.

Beline was joined by other MAIN officials in officially presenting the award to the Board of Freeholder’s at the county governing board’s June 8 meeting in Morristown.

“We are honored to receive this award but we must give all credit for the operation of our fine county library to the people who work there and have long provided our county with a first class library,” said Freeholder Director Kathy DeFillippo.

MAIN was originally created in 1980 to help oversee the initial automation of the county’s library systems. Over time, it has evolved into a full‐fledged public library consortium which offers its members cost‐sharing opportunities, technical support, and an organizational structure conducive to collaboration and efficient management of tax dollars.