Posted Thursday, August 27th, 2015

County College of Morris President Edward J. Yaw and Drew University President MaryAnn Baenninger signed an agreement today that will provide top honors students at CCM with scholarships to Drew and a seamless transition to allow those students to earn their bachelor’s degrees at the Madison-based university.

CCM and Drew University Sign Agreement Offering Scholarships to CCM Honor Students and Smooth Path to Attend Drew
CCM President Edward J Yaw and Drew University President MaryAnn Baenninger sign agreement

Under the agreement, CCM students who successfully complete a minimum of four honors courses at the county college, earn a minimum 3.25 grade point average (GPA) and transfer to Drew will receive scholarships from the university to continue their studies.

Admitted students with a GPA of 3.75 will receive a $25,000 Honors Scholarship, those with a GPA of 3.5 or higher will receive a $20,000 Presidential Scholarship, and those who earn a 3.25 GPA or higher will receive a $15,000 Deans Scholarship.

The scholarships will be awarded annually as long as the students maintain the appropriate GPA. Students who are members of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society at CCM will receive an additional $2,500 annual scholarship.

Qualified honors students at CCM also will be able to take up to two courses at Drew at no cost while still enrolled at the community college. Students who are admitted to Drew will enter the university as juniors and will become part of the university’s honors cohort.

“We’re delighted that Drew has developed yet another pathway for CCM students to seamlessly transfer to the university and pursue a bachelor’s degree more affordably,” said Yaw. “It’s a wonderful opportunity for CCM students who earn their associate degree to also earn a bachelor’s degree from a highly respected liberal arts university.”

CCM and Drew University Sign Agreement Offering Scholarships to CCM Honor Students and Smooth Path to Attend Drew
Presidents Yaw and Baenninger with key CCM and Drew officials

“We are so proud to be able to offer qualified students at County College of Morris the opportunity to attend Drew through this unique agreement,” said Baenninger. “Besides taking classes at Drew while still at CCM, this agreement will make college more affordable by offering a range of honors scholarships to these high-achieving students as they complete their baccalaureate degrees.”

CCM and Drew University Sign Agreement Offering Scholarships to CCM Honor Students and Smooth Path to Attend Drew
Freeholder John Krickus

”On behalf of the Morris County Board of Freeholders, I want to thank Drew University for this program and congratulate CCM for its efforts in providing ongoing opportunities to CCM students,” commented Freeholder John Krickus, a Drew University graduate, and liaison to CCM for the county governing board.

This latest agreement is in addition to a dual admissions agreement that CCM and Drew signed in 2014. Under the dual admissions agreement, Drew agreed to award up to two full-tuition scholarships each year to qualified students who enroll through that program.

For information about the new agreement, contact Kari Hawkins, CCM’s coordinator of transfer services at 973-328-5142 or [email protected].

About County College of Morris
Located in Randolph, on more than 200 acres, CCM and its satellite location in Morristown provide residents of Morris County and the surrounding region with an outstanding, affordable education.

CCM offers more than 50 associate degrees, along with a full slate of certificate programs. The college also has one of the highest combined graduation and transfer rates among community colleges in New Jersey. 

About Drew UniversityDrew University, a Phi Beta Kappa liberal arts university, includes the College of Liberal Arts, the Drew Theological School and the Caspersen School of Graduate Studies. Drew is located on a beautiful, wooded, 186-acre campus in Madison.

Particularly noteworthy opportunities for undergraduates include the Wall Street Semester, Semester at the United Nations, Semester on Contemporary Art and Semester on Communications and Media in New York City, and several international semester opportunities.

The university is home to the Center for Civic Engagement, the Drew Summer Science Institute, the Charles A. Dana Research Center for Scientists Emeriti (RISE) and the Shakespeare Theatre of New Jersey, an independent professional theater, as well as the United Methodist Archives and History Center and one of the country’s leading concentrations of materials on Willa Cather.    


Photo 2: Back row, left to right, Dr. Bette Simmons, CCM vice president of Student Development and Enrollment Management; Professor Laura Gabrielsen, CCM Honors Studies adviser; Sunita Bhargava, Drew director of Continuing Education and Special Programs; Bob Massa, Drew senior vice president of Enrollment and Institutional Planning. Front row, left to right, Dr. Dwight Smith, CCM vice president of Academic Affairs; Dr. Edward J. Yaw, CCM president; Dr. MaryAnn Baenninger, Drew president; Christopher Taylor, Drew dean of Liberal Arts.