Posted Thursday, August 22nd, 2013

Morris County’s Youth Public Safety Academy this summer graduated 36 high school students from across the county who spent the week of August 5 in a training program that exposed them to careers in public safety and public service.
The academy’s challenging, hands-on curriculum included fire department, SWAT/SERT Team and K-9/Bomb Unit demonstrations; an overview of Emergency Medical Services training; crime scene investigations; and physical training in a format similar to what actual police, fire and EMSacademy cadets experience.
The Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders sponsored the free academy along with the county’s Department of Law and Public Safety to build interest in public service and public safety professions.
36 High School Students Graduate from Youth Public Safety AcademyThe students who graduated from the Youth Public Safety Academy were: Jack Alenucewicz of Mendham; Amethyst Aragon, Alejandra Arias, Marilyn Mayorga and Evan Little of Dover; Ebony Ashford of Rockaway Township; Melissa Begon of Lake Hiawatha; Sharone Brown of Andover; Sujay Busarajan and Parth Vachhani of Parsippany; Vanessa Cabrera, Jake Tappen and Luke Mayer of Morristown; and Nicole Clarke and Brian McCormick of Wharton.

Also graduating were Marco Collemi of Montville; Danielle Crosson of Hopatcong; Anthony D’Amico of Rockaway Borough; Rebecca Dimichino of Roxbury; Shawn Doriety, Meghan Reilly, Jessica Rodiles, Daniel Palazzo and Zachary Palmer of Boonton; John Galluzzi and Matthew Reese of Boonton Township.

The graduates also included Kristine Gurcan of Hanover Township; David Jones of East Hanover; David Pera of MountOlive; Mark Richards of Mountain Lakes; Daniel Rios of Randolph; Dylan Roos and Madison Roos of Chatham; Shane Stone of Denville; Daniel Swerzenski of JeffersonTownship; and Parth Yadav of Morris Plains.