Posted Thursday, April 25th, 2013

Several Morris County individuals and schools and a business have been honored for their contributions toward waste reduction, reuse, recycling, and litter abatement by the Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority.

The recognition came during the MUA’s Recycling Awards Dinner on April 17.

Those receiving awards were:

●Cleanup Superstar Award to Pastor Sidney Williams of Bethel A.M.E.Church in Morristown for the leadership he provided for a spring 2012 cleanup of the Whippany River.

●First Prize For A Second Chance Award to Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation in East Hanover for shifting its emphasis from recycling e-waste to refurbishing and reusing it.

●Composting’s A Blast! Go, Rocket! Award to the School District of the Chathams for implementing a food waste composting program by using a Rocket Composter.

●It’s S’cool To Be Green! Award to the Mendham Township Elementary School for its overall emphasis on taking care of the environment.

●A+ For A Cleaner Mount Arlington Award to the Mount Arlington Public School for participating enthusiastically for three consecutive years in the Slam Dunk the Junk Grant Program, a litter abatement and cleanup program.

●McRex (Morris County Recycling Excellence) Award to Michael Petonak, superintendent of public works in Boonton, for the many years he has worked to improve the recycling program in the town.

●Take One: Action! Award to the Chatham Township Environmental Commission for producing and disseminating a video called “All-In-One, Single-Stream Recycling” to publicize the arrival of single-stream recycling in the township.

●Extra, Extra! Read All About It! Award to Michael Daigle, formerly of the Daily Record; Larry Ragonese, formerly of The Star-Ledger; and Fred Snowflack, formerly of the Daily Record and now with The Record, for all of the energy they devoted to writing about recycling and related issues when they were covering Morris County for the aforementioned newspapers.

●The Hy Nadel Creativity Award to Ted Largman, a Morris Township resident, a retired chemist and patent holder, an artist who uses “found” objects in his works, and a member of the Morris Township Environmental Commission. The award is named for the late Herman (Hy) Nadel, who was a member of the Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority Board for over 17 years, including six years as chairman and three years as vice chairman. In addition, Hy, who was also known as the Cake Man, baked and decorated 18 sheet cakes for the recycling awards dinners between 1991 and 2008. Ted is the third recipient of this award.

●The Maraziti, Falcon & Healey Environmental Excellence Scholarship will be presented by representatives of that firm to Nayna Shah, a Morris Plains resident who is a senior at Morristown High School. Nayna is the fourth recipient of this award.

●2012 Slam Dunk the Junk! Poster Contest winners Stefanie Marie Fischer, Morris Knolls High School; Abirami Kurinchi-Vendhan, Morris Hills Regional High School; Michaela Phelan, Borough School, Morris Plains; Jaecob Ponce de Leon, Central Middle School, Parsippany.