Posted Friday, January 4th, 2013

John Krickus and David Scapicchio became the newest members of the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders on Jan.4 when they were sworn in to begin their three-year terms on the board. (Watch the ceremony and view photos online.)

Krickus is a former mayor of Washington Township, and Scapicchio is a former mayor of Mount Olive.

John Cesaro of Parsippany was also sworn in to a three-year term as freeholder. He is a former councilman in Parsippany who has been on the freeholder board since June, when he was selected by the Republican County Committee to fill the seat left vacant when Gene Feyl resigned to become chairman of the state’s Highlands Council.

The freeholder board’s annual meeting also featured the swearing in of Hank Lyon to a two-year unexpired term. Lyon of Montville, joined the freeholder board in March, filling the vacancy created with the departure of Margaret Nordstrom.

The freeholders selected Thomas Mastrangelo as the board’s director for 2013, and named Scapicchio deputy director.

Mastrangelo is a Montville resident who was elected to the freeholder board in November 2010.

The freeholders in 2013 will continue to conduct their public meetings on the second and fourth Wednesday of the month at 7:30 p.m. The meeting schedule is available online at