Posted Monday, May 14th, 2012

The Morris County Freeholders on May 9 honored the 55 public safety personnel who were singled out by the 200 Club of Morris County for the club’s 2012 Valor and Meritorious Awards.

The freeholders, prior to their public meeting, presented framed Certificates of Commendation to the honorees for the exemplary conduct each displayed in the line of duty.

The firefighters, police officers, EMS personnel and State Police officers were praised by the freeholders for “acting in the highest tradition of their profession.”  The freeholders also publically thanked all public safety personnel in the county for their dedication to serving and protecting the community.

The 200 Club award recipients recognized by the freeholders were:

●Sgt. Richard Vnencak, Det. Sgt. Christian Trowbridge, Det. Leroy Harris, Officers Anthony Cosentino, Christopher Petonak, Brian Walinski and Dispatcher Mario Santulli of the Boonton Police Department; and Patrolmen Thomas S. Cacciabeve and Jason P. Raffo of the Boonton Township Police Department for their response and investigative work in the Aug. 16, 2011, shooting death of a woman in Boonton and the subsequent arrest of the woman’s husband and another woman.

●EMT’s Caroline Hollinghurst and Scott Hollinghurst of the Boonton Kiwanis First Aid Squad for their response to a Jan. 2, 2011, motor vehicle accident in which a man was trapped inside the vehicle.

●Firefighter/EMT/Fire Inspector Ian R. Bell and Assistant Chief Tom Rebyak of the Whippany Fire Department and Captain Jeff Gregory and Firefighter Michael Shondel of the Boonton Fire Department for their dangerous in-water rescue Aug. 28, 2011 of two children who went over the Eden Lake Dam in Whippany in inner tubes and became trapped in tree limbs in the churning waters of Hurricane Irene.

●Firefighters Thomas G. Cobane, Ian R. Bell, Robert F. Cobane, Jr., Joseph E. Makowski, Jr. and Josh J. Makowski of the Whippany Fire Department for the Aug. 28, 2011, rescue of a man from the roof of his car that had become submerged in Hurricane Irene’s floodwaters on Route 10 in Whippany.

●Lieutenant James Correale and Firefighter Patrick Daley of the Morris Township Fire Department for grabbing and saving a man on Aug. 28, 2011 as he started to jump from the Lake Road Bridge in Morris Township.

●Chief Wesley Sharples, Captain Michael Kelly, First Assistant Chief Jason Lezcano, Past First Assistant Chief Michael Leonard and Past Deputy Chief Edward Saniewski of the Denville Fire Department for pulling a man from his burning vehicle May 16, 2011, after the car overturned and became engulfed in flames.

●New Jersey State Trooper Dennis Vukosa for his unassisted arrest of an armed robbery suspect last year.

●New Jersey State Trooper James Hamill and Hanover Patrolman Dominic J. Kaiser for their Sept 7, 2011, rescue of a man trapped in his sinking vehicle after it ran off a Route 287 exit ramp and into the Whippany River in Hanover.

●Detective Shawn M. Bennett, Patrolmen Brian W. Bolitski, Gary A. Hicok, Samuel T. Trimble and Chief Robert D. Tovo of the Mountain Lakes Police Department; Lt. John Wieners, Det. Sgt. Richard Nicoletti and Patrolmen Luke Costigan, Michael Ruggier and George Tsimpedes of the Parsippany Police Department; Lieutenants Keith Partin and Frank Perna, Det. Scott Revis, Officers Daniel Fernandez, David Longo, Bruce McCarter and Kristian Sandman; Dispatcher Nicholas Pappas and Chief Christopher Wagner of the Denville Police Department; Officers Scott Haigh and Robert Koehler of the Rockaway Borough Police Department; Lt. Frank Coppinger and Officer Paul Wilkes of the Dover Police Department; Patrolman Jason P. Raffo of the Boonton Township Police Department; and Telecommunicators Dawn E. Agens and Robert J. Ribnicky of the Morris County Department of Law and Public Safety, Communications Division for their response and actions during an Oct. 14, 2011 intense, active shooting incident in Mountain Lakes.