Posted Monday, April 2nd, 2012

The Morris County Freeholders on March 28 hosted 34 students from high schools across the county during the Freeholder Board’s annual Student Government Day.

The juniors and seniors met with the freeholders, the six county government department directors and some of the county’s constitutional officers, all of whom explained their responsibilities to the students as well as the importance of county government.

“Our young people need to know how all levels of government work if we want them to become involved,” said Freeholder Director William Chegwidden. “We invite the students here each year to make them more aware of county government, the role it plays in their lives and the many programs and services it offers.”

The students who participated in the interactive Student Government Day program were selected by their high schools, and had all expressed an interest in politics, government or current events.

Students who attended were Dalton Kaye of the Academy for Culinary Arts; Kimberley Kohn of the Academy for Veterinary Science; Jenna Iandiorio, Brian Singer, Ryan Keenan and Gabriella DiGiorgio of Hanover Park High School; Michael Collina, Daniel Curran and Veronica Kot of Jefferson High School; Alexandria Piacenti and Natasha Sidhu of Mendham High School; Matthew Devlin and Diamante Soto of Morris Catholic High School; Luke Hertzel, Frank Chapparo and Nimit Jindal of Morris Hills High School; James Dollar, Natalia Kazakevich and Justine Laughlin of Morris Knolls High School.

Also participating were Morristown High School students Brett Harvey and Sasha Gilthorpe; Akshatha Bhat, Steven Massotti, Connor McGrath, Nick Wright and Alexandra Maher of Mount Olive High School; Shannon Callinan and Matthew Sussis of Randolph High School; Austin Mueller and Lorrin VanEvra of West Morris Central High School; and Megan Strickland and Andrew Zapf of Whippany Park High School.