Posted Friday, August 12th, 2011

Single-stream recycling is now available in Chatham Township, Morris Plains, Netcong, Hanover, Denville, Mendham Township, Wharton, Boonton Township and Rockaway Borough.

Single-stream recycling means that all bottles, cans and paper may be mixed together and placed in the same curbside recycling bin, according to Penny Jones, Recycling Education Specialist with the Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority.

In addition, a number of new items are now being accepted for recycling in the communities that have contracts with the MCMUA for single-stream curbside collection of recyclables, Jones said.

These include clean aluminum pie plates, trays and foil; plastic containers, which include bottles and non-bottles coded #1 PETE, #2 HDPE, #4 LDPE, #5 PP, and #7 OTHER; boxes used for liquids and frozen food, such as soup boxes, drink boxes and milk and juice cartons; and cardboard packaging used for soda, juice or beer typically in 6 or 12-packs.

The numbers for the plastic containers are found inside the triangular recycling symbol that is stamped on the bottom of plastic containers.

“It is important to note that neither plastics coded #3 V or #6 PS nor plastic bags of any kind are to be put into the curbside recycling bin,” Jones said.

Residents, she said, should continue to recycle the items they have been recycling for quite some time, including aluminum cans; steel (tin) cans; glass bottles and jars; plastic bottles coded #1 PETE and #2 HDPE; newspapers, junk mail and magazines; chipboard such as boxes used for cereal and facial tissue, and cardboard boxes that have been flattened. These items may be put into the curbside recycling bin together with the newly accepted items, Jones said.

Newspapers and cardboard boxes should not be tied. If cardboard boxes are too large to fit into a curbside recycling bin, they should be flattened, folded and stacked inside one cardboard box and placed next to the recycling bin, Jones said.

The Morris County MUA will continue to collect the recyclables at curbside, after which they will be transported to the new ReCommunity single-stream recycling facility on Iron Mountain Road in Mine Hill.

For more information, Denville residents may call the township Public Works Department at 973-625-8334; Wharton citizens may call the borough recycling coordinator at 973-366-2155 Ext. 2; those living in Boonton Township may call 973-402-4024; residents of Rockaway Borough may call 973-627-2000; Netcong residents may call the borough hall at 973-347-0252; Mendham Township residents may call the township recycling coordinator at 973-543-4555; and those residing in Morris Plains may call the municipal building at 973-538-2224.

Information is also available on the MUA website,

According to Jones, other communities in the county are expected to begin their participation in the program in the coming weeks.