Posted Friday, May 13th, 2011

The Morris County Freeholders on May 11 honored the public safety personnel who were singled out by the 200 Club of Morris County for the club’s 2011 Valor and Meritorious Awards.

The freeholders, during their public meeting, presented framed Certificates of Commendation to each of the 30 recipients, honoring them for displaying exemplary conduct in the line of duty.

The firefighters, police officers, EMS personnel and State Police officers were praised by the freeholders for “acting in the highest tradition of those who serve and protect the community.”

Those recognized by the freeholders included firefighters Matthew Loughlin, Sean McDonough, Richard Mikutsky, Stuart Williamson and Captain Jonathan Prachthauser of the Morristown Fire Department; Firefighters Robert F. Cobane Sr., Robert F. Cobane Jr., Paul J. Perrello, and Ian R. Bell of the Hanover Township Fire District No. 2; and Patrolmen Christopher R. Martino and Paul Weaver of the Hanover Police Department.

Also honored were Detective John A. Ambrose and Detective Lieutenant Brian Monaghan of the East Hanover Police Department; Patrolman Stephen DeVries and Sgt. Mark Giansanti of the Harding Police Department; Rockaway Borough Police officers Peter Krowiak, Michael Rettino and Christopher Richardson; and officers Ryan Eastridge and Paul Ottavinia of the Mount Olive Police Department.

The freeholders also paid tribute to Sgt. Mark Boyer, officers Gene Blood, Thomas B. Gorman, Peter Grawehr, Michael Weldon and Dispatcher Sara J. Huggins of the Denville Police Department; Detective Tyrone Jackson of the Morristown Police Department; and Detective Gerald Theckston, Trooper Joseph Palach and Detective Sgt. 1st Class Sandor Lengyel of the New Jersey State Police.

Each of the individuals was selected by the 200 Club of Morris County for having displayed bravery and heroism in 2010.