Posted Friday, October 1st, 2010

The Morris County Division of Transportation reminds commuters that significant changes to the county’s local bus service went into effect Oct. 4.

The changes were made by NJ Transit as part of the agency’s effort to make the most efficient use of its resources, while serving customers in the area.

Effective Oct. 4, NJ Transit has restructured four local bus routes that operate in Morris County and that are known as Morris County Metro “MCM” routes 1, 2, 3 and 10 and transformed them into six new 800-series bus routes.

The restructured routes will expand bus service into new areas and create new transfer opportunities between NJ Transit buses and trains at Morristown and Dover stations, while reducing service in areas where ridership has diminished.

The new service areas include the Route 46 corridor between Morristown, Parsippany and Wayne/Willowbrook; commercial and office developments along the Jefferson Road corridor in Hanover and Parsippany; new direct service between Roxbury, Randolph, Dover, Wharton and Rockaway; and expanded services to Morris County’s Hanover Avenue Complex and Greystone Hospital in Morris Plains and Parsippany.

Information on the changes, including schedules and a map of the new bus routes, is available on the Morris County Division of Transportation Web site,

The current MCM routes serve approximately 1,400 customers on a typical weekday.