Posted Monday, April 5th, 2010

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to New Jersey to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by the severe storms and flooding that began March 12.

The declaration covers affected residents in Morris and 11 other counties, making them eligible for federal assistance.

Residents of the affected counties who have made application for federal assistance or who plan on making application for federal assistance will be contacted by fully credentialed inspectors to schedule an appointment to inspect damage and to determine eligibility for any funded programs, said Scott Di Giralomo, director of the Morris County Department of Law and Public Safety.

The New Jersey Office of Emergency Management has established community relations teams with FEMA. These teams will be visiting the affected areas of the state to conduct further outreach to those residents who may be eligible and may be in need of assistance because of the most recent disaster, Di Giralomo said.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Residents can apply for assistance at or at 800 621-3362. More information from FEMA is expected this week.

The declaration also includes public assistance for several Morris and nine other counties. Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding.