Friday, July 10th, 2009

The Morris County Freeholders on July 8 presented Morris County Distinguished Military Service Medals to 11 veterans in recognition of their service to our nation.

Freeholder Director Gene F. Feyl praised the medal recipients for their service and patriotism.

“You have made great sacrifices to defend the American people and our free way of life,” Feyl told the veterans. “We owe all of you an enormous gratitude for your courage and your sacrifices.”

Medals were awarded to Joseph Devaney of Mine Hill; Joseph B. Ford of Morristown; James F. McConnell of Randolph; Lee McNulty of Butler; John H. Finkeldie III of Jefferson; John Freudenberg, Jr of Randolph; Fredrick J. Coughlan of Morristown; Robert R. Peer of Montville; Eric Hanna of Denville; Eddie Ruiz of Wharton; and William Yarlaski of Budd Lake.

Since the freeholders began the program in 2000, approximately 8,950 Distinguished Military Service Medals have been presented to veterans or to their family members. The medal was designed by a committee of Morris County veterans and is unique to the county.

Eligibility requirements for the recognition include having served on active duty, not for training, during periods that have been designated by Department of Veterans Affairs and for which a veteran is eligible for battle pins. The individual may be a current or former Morris County resident, but did not have to live in the county during his or her time of active duty. A veteran must have received an honorable discharge, and discharge papers will be required for proof of service.

Veterans or their family members must register with the Morris County Department of Human Services at 973-285-6866.