Thursday, March 12th, 2009

The Morris County Freeholders on March 11 presented Morris County Distinguished Military Service Medals to eight veterans in recognition of their service to our nation.

The medal recipients were praised for their service and patriotism by Freeholder Director Gene F. Feyl.

“You bravely protected and served our great nation during conflicts around the world,” Feyl told the veterans. “Without question, we are in your debt for your courage and your sacrifices.”

Medals were awarded to Army Korean War veterans Gerald DeFranco and John McCarthy, both of Rockaway; Navy Vietnam veteran Christopher Tighe from Randolph; and Army Vietnam veterans Tim O’Connor of Morristown; Gerald Brian Doe, Jr. of Morris Plains; and Dominick D’Andrea of Montville. The freeholders also presented medals to Army veteran Vincent Binkoski of Wharton who served in Panama and in Basra; and Gulf War Navy veteran Russell Sieb of Randolph.

Since the freeholders began the program in 2000, approximately 8,500 Distinguished Military Service Medals have been presented to veterans or to their family members.

Eligibility requirements for the recognition include having served on active duty, not for training, during periods that have been designated by Department of Veterans Affairs and for which a veteran is eligible for battle pins. The individual may be a current or former Morris County resident, but did not have to live in the county during his or her time of active duty. A veteran must have received an honorable discharge, and discharge papers will be required for proof of service.

Veterans or their family members must register with the Morris County Department of Human Services at 973-285-6866.