Monday, June 9th, 2008

The Morris County Freeholders on June 9 presented Morris County Distinguished Military Service Medals to 21 veterans, all of whom are members of the Parsippany-Troy Hills Police Department, in recognition of their military service.

The freeholders presented medals to patrolmen Theodore Anderson, Robert Appel, Daniel S. Bendas, Brian Conover, Ross L. Cooper, Jr., Awilda Curving, Marcin Czajka, Thomas J. Dinkelspiel, Damon Farms, John F. Keiling, Alfred J. Keiser, Peter Kolln, Jr., Jason M. Lubeck, Jeffrey E. Magahan, Steven T. Miller, David Roman, Robert Smolen, Michael Sprung, William M. Stone, III, Andy Van Orden and to Sgt. Louis A. Valori.

While the freeholders have presented more than 8,400 Distinguished Military Service Medal at ceremonies across the county since 2000, Freeholder Director Margaret Nordstrom told the recipients their ceremony was unique.

“You served and protected this great nation of ours here and in conflicts around the world, and now you are home and you continue to serve and protect in your capacity as law enforcement officers,” Nordstrom told the recipients.

“The dedication to duty you displayed while defending our freedoms and the freedoms of millions of people around the world is the same dedication to duty you display in Parsippany as you patrol neighborhoods, respond to calls, maintain order, investigate crime and arrest offenders.”

More information about the program may be obtained by contacting the Morris County Veterans Service Office at 973-285-6866.