Tuesday, May 10th, 2016

DON’T BE LEFT OUT OF THE VOTE IN THIS HISTORIC PRESIDENTIAL AND IMPORTANT COUNTY AND LOCAL ELECTION

The deadline to register to vote in New Jersey’s 2016 presidential primary election is next Tuesday, May 17. In addition, there are Congressional races and a host of a county and local elections to be decided on June 7.

Vote

You may register to vote in Morris County if:

  • You are a citizen of the United States
  • You will be 18 years of age on or before the next election
  • You are not incarcerated, on parole, or on probation due to a conviction for an indictable offense under any federal or state laws
  • You are a Morris County resident 30 days before the election
  • You are a resident of the election district in which you expect to vote at the time of registration

Voter registration applications can be obtained from your local Municipal Clerk’s Office or from the Morris County Board of Elections Office in Morristown. The form can be downloaded at http://elections.morriscountynj.gov/voters/form-register/

The Board of Elections Office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:40 p.m. Monday through Friday. It will stay open late on Tuesday, May 17, until 9 p.m. to accept voter registrations.

Voter registrations cannot be submitted online, emailed or faxed. Original applications must be hand delivered or postmarked on or before May 17.

In the June 7 primary election, you may only vote for a candidate in your declared party (Republican or Democrat).

If you are a registered voter who has never declared a party, you will complete a Political Party Affiliation Declaration  at your polling place on the day of the Primary Election. This declaration must be made before you will be permitted to vote in that Primary Election.

The General Election is the only time you can cross party lines.

Vote 2 You may not vote in a primary election if you are a declared US Constitution, Green, Libertarian, Natural Law, Reform, Socialist Party of New Jersey or Conservative Party member.

If you wish to return to an unaffiliated status, you may do so by completing a Political Party Affiliation Declaration ) form at least 55 days prior to the next primary election in 2017.

For a wealth of information on voting, please visit the Morris County Elections site at: https://www.scribd.com/doc/37107013/Morris-County-Voters-Guide

To get a voter registration form and more information call 973-285-8350 or visit:

http://elections.morriscountynj.gov/voters/form-register/

Also, if you are not going to be in Morris County or can’t get to the polls that day, mail-in ballots can be obtained through the Morris County Clerk’s Office. The application can be downloaded at www.morriscountyclerk.org. The deadline to apply for mail-in ballots through the mail is May 31. 

If you have a question regarding mail-in ballots or require a ballot mailed to your residence, please call 973-285-6715.